Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board will ensure a high standard of research and will monitor the progress of the project by taking part in the project meetings.

Whenever appropriate, it will consult the consortium and make recommendations as to improve the performance.


Dirk Busch

Prof. Dr. Dirk Busch (TU München, Germany)

Main research focus is the identification of protective adaptive immune mechanisms that can be explored therapeutically, for example to treat infections or cancer. Dr. Busch has developed a number of innovative technologies (e.g. the MHC streptamer technology) facilitating the purification and analysis of antigen-specific T cells for diagnostic and/or therapeutic applications.
After studying medicine in Mainz and Freiburg (1987-1993) and finishing his thesis work (Mainz 1993), Dr. Busch started his residency in pediatric infectious diseases (Würzburg 1993-1996). Supported by a DFG stipend, he worked as postdoctoral fellow from 1996 - 1999 in Dr. Eric Pamer's laboratory at Yale University. Thereafter, he returned to Germany (Institute for Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene, Technische Universität München (TUM)) where he habilitated (2005) and specialized in Medical Microbiology and Epidemiology (2005). He is heading the clinical cooperation group 'Antigen-specific immunotherapy' (Helmholtz Zentrum München and TUM) and is host of the IAS (Institute for Advanced Study, TUM) focus group 'Clinical Cell Processing and Purification'. Since 2009 he is director of the Institute for Medical Microbiology, Immunology und Hygiene at the TUM.



Stanley Riddell

Prof. Stanley R. Riddell, M.D.

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Clinical Research Division

University of Washington, School of Medicine

Stanley Riddell received his M.D. from the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, Canada. He trained in Medical Oncology and Immunology at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the University of Washington from 1985 - 1990. He subsequently joined the faculty at these institutions, and is currently Member and Associate Program Head of the Program in Immunology at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and Professor, Department of Medicine at the University of Washington.

Stanley Riddells main research interests are:

I. Immunobiology of graft-versus-leukemia (GVL) responses and graft-versus-host disease (GVHD).
II. Adoptive transfer of T cells to treat human leukemia
III. Immunobiology of breast cancer
IV. Immunobiology of human cytomegalovirus (CMV) infection

Hans-Jochem Kolb

Prof. Dr. Hans-Jochem Kolb (TU München)

Emeritus Professor of Haematology, TU München

Hans-Jochem Kolb is a renowned expert in haematology and T cell transplantation. He is currently working as a consultant for the TU München (III. Medizinische Klinik, Klinikum rechts der Isar):

Kolb Consulting

John Barrett

John Barrett, M.D. (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, USA)

Senior Investigator, Stem Cell Allogenic Transplantation Section

Dr. John Barrett received his M.B. and B.S. degrees from the Medical College of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London in 1968, and his M.D. degree from University of London in 1975. From 1978 to 1988 he was head of the department of hematology at Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, London, and from 1988 to 1993 he was professor of hematological medicine at the Hammersmith Hospital, London. Dr. Barrett joined the NHLBI in 1993, as the chief of the Bone Marrow Stem Cell Allotransplantation Section of the Hematology Branch. He has received numerous honors for his contributions to hematology and stem cell transplantation including awards from the National Institutes of Health and the National Health Service UK. Dr. Barrett was elected a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in 1998. He has authored over 300 original scientific articles, and nearly 150 reviews, editorials, and book chapters. He serves on numerous journal editorial boards and is the Editor in Chief for Cytotherapy. Dr. Barrett is a member of the Royal Society of Medicine, British Society for Haematology, American Society of Hematology, American Society for Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation (for which he served as President in 2010), and International Society for Cell Therapy, among other organizations.

Prof. Manuel Fernandez